Union

February 6, 2008

This made me sick to my stomach to see this morning. The first picture is of girls dorm rooms [I lived in Eaton for 1.5 years] And, its hard to tell, but I think this is the back side of Hurt Complex at Union- the girls dorms where I lived when I was in college. I started getting texts about what was happening there early last night and continued to try to figure out what was happening in Jackson through out the rest of the night. I woke up to Dr. Dockery, our president, on the Today Show giving an interview. I really, really can’t believe what my school looks like now. Several were injured after being trapped in the guys’ common area at Watters [guy’s dorm] but no one died…. I can hardly believe it. The videos and pictures blow my mind. I just cannot believe it.

Union was hit by a tornado when I was a freshman. My car was roughed up, as were others. Major repairs had to be done… but nothing like this happened. Union is a small, close-knit community and I know they will be okay. I will post more later. I am hoping to hear from some of my friends in Jackson soon… I know the phones are slammed. I think there are a few of us who will be heading down to help out when we get the go ahead.

One Response to “Union”

  1. erin Says:

    Lacey, it’s really unbelievable, isn’t it? I teach at Union now, and today when I saw the damage, I just wept. I feel for the students who had to go through this, some of whom have lost everything. I’ve had some contact with a few of my students, and while they are all safe, they’re shaken up. One student is in critical care at Jackson General. Praise God no lives were lost! If I find out more details about when people can come to campus, I’ll let you know. I know that tomorrow they’re bringing in heavy machinery to clear away a lot of the rubble, so outside people will not be allowed, but I would imagine as the larger debris is cleared, more volunteers will be needed. Pray for the students.

    Erin (Hetzel) Mount


Leave a Reply

