Parade of Lost Souls

October 29, 2006

The parade that Kristin and I volunteered to help with this week was tonight. Regardless of anyone’s opinions of Halloween, I found it quite enjoyable, even amidst the not-so-Christian spirituality present. Here are some pictures (I really need to get a flickr account, especially when I get a new camera… mom,*cough Christmas *cough)

many of the houses also participated, as you can see. (notice the windows/eyes)

so initially i took this picture because the guy had on a really amazing wizard costume. then when i went back to make sure it took i kind of freaked because of the way the picture turned out. obviously i didn’t do anything cool to cause the effects… his costume was apparently reflective.

they also had a graveyard where people could make grave stones signfying things they wanted to put to death. i really liked the visual.

i resonated with this one.

so i accidentally cut the head of this gigantic puppet off… but what’s really important is that i helped paint those snakes. 🙂

this german artist has a theory that when angels spend too much time on earth they become corrupted and can lose their wings. [she really believe this.]

so, this guy wins the award for best dad ever. if it is hard to tell, his baby is a spider, and the dad has a spider web tangled all around his head. i seriously have to marry someone who would do this.

so i forgot my costume… but i did wear a hat.

On a side note, during the fire show (no pics, my camera died), I could have sworn I heard over some loud speaker a reference to “1 Peter 2:24- [some verse that was muffled]” I had my bible in my purse and decided I would see if I was crazy and here is what it said:

He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. For you were straying like sheep, but have now returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls. v24-25

I have no idea who I heard annouce this outloud, but I know I am not crazy.

What a comforting thought to know that even in a place where souls are celebrated in their lostness, God is our overseer… leading his dumb, prone to wander sheep to return to Him. May a few sheep from the parade wander His way. May those of us in His flock be reminded of His constant care for us, even to our core.

by the way- its really late. its raining. i have a new book to read. its fall back. beautiful.

One Response to “Parade of Lost Souls”

  1. Jeffrey Says:

    whoa that looks like it was fun!! i wish nashville did something like that.


Leave a Reply

